Innovation partner of ABT Sportsline in the Formula E

Racing sports promote development of electric powertrains and e-Mobility: Würth Elektronik eiSos is new innovation partner of ABT Sportsline in the Formula E

Würth Elektronik eiSos GmbH & Co. KG, German manufacturer of electronic and electromechanical components, is a new partner and sponsor of the Formula E Racing Team of ABT Sportsline. The CEOs of Würth Elektronik eiSos, Oliver Konz and Thomas Schrott, as well as Hans-Jürgen Abt, managing director of ABT Sportsline GmbH, signed an official agreement at the Norisring in Nuremberg on June 29, 2014.

The Kemptener racing team is the only German team that will drive in the recently established FIA Formula E Championship in the 2014/2015 season; it will compete in ten races for the Formula E Championship of the electric racing cars. The opening race will start in Peking on September 13, 2014. In Europe, the Formula E circus will make its appearance for the first time on May 9, 2015 at the famous city course in the Principality of Monaco. Other races will take place in Malaysia, Uruguay, Argentina, the U.S. and England. The home contest for the ABT Sportsline team will be the race on May 30, 2015 in Berlin. Würth Elektronik eiSos expects that in addition to increasing brand awareness, its involvement in Formula E will provide an important stimulus for the technological development of components for electric drives and e-Mobility.

"Racing in the past was important for vehicle development, and it still is today. Innovations from racing cars later benefit vehicles produced in series. We are convinced: the new Formula E will promote the technical development of battery technology, materials, electric motors and components. Interest in the new racing series is huge. Exciting tournaments in many metropolitan areas of the world will demonstrate the economic potential and appeal of modern electric cars," say Oliver Konz and Thomas Schrott, CEOs at Würth Elektronik eiSos, in explaining the company's involvement in the new racing series. "For us as a developer and manufacturer of electronic and electromechanical components, Formula E not only offers a fabulous advertising platform, but we also gain first-hand experience in developing the future e-Mobility market and in introducing our innovative products even at this early stage."

Alexander Gerfer, CTO, and Oliver Opitz, Division Managers of Strategic Product Development (both at Würth Elektronik eiSos), add that Würth Elektronik eiSos has been engaged in highly-efficient and low-loss component solutions for many years. This includes low-loss inductors and transformers, as well as high-performance connectors and high-capacity, short-term memories that can be used, for example, in battery charging technology.

Hans-Jürgen Abt, managing director at ABT Sportsline GmbH, remarked at the signing of the agreement: "Würth and ABT Sportsline have had a successful partnership with each other for many years both in racing and day-to-day business. So I am especially pleased that we are now continuing our collaboration with Elektronik eiSos as we enter the future of motor sports. Formula E is a big adventure for drivers, teams and sponsors. It's nice to experience this adventure with another reliable partner at our side. The innovative spirit of Würth Elektronik eiSos fits perfectly with our team."

High-performance eBolides

Formula E drivers from ABT Sportsline:
Lucas di Grassi (left) and Daniel Abt
Picture source: ABT Sportsline GmbH

In the first season in 2014/2015, a total of ten Formula E teams in identical racing cars will go to the starting line using drives and transmissions from the high-tech forges of McLaren. Even racing cars in this season will have a boost mode for passing maneuvers in excess of 200 kW (270 horsepower) when they hit the road.

The companies will integrate their own developments into the vehicles at future Formula E championships. In the medium term, they will then participate in competitions with their very own Formula E racing cars.

Further information on ABT Sportsline GmbH and FIA Formula E Championship.